Senator Menendez Introduces Livable Communities Act of 2011


Media Contact: Phillip Dodge, National Center for Healthy Housing, 443-539-4168,


Senator Menendez Introduces Livable Communities Act of 2011

Columbia, MD (September 27, 2011)—The National Center for Healthy Housing praises the introduction of the Livable Communities Act of 2011 (S.1621) on Friday. Senator Robert Menendez (D-NJ) introduced the legislation, which would formally authorize the Office of Sustainable Housing and Communities at the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and its Regional Planning and Community Challenge grant programs.

The Livable Communities Act of 2011 would improve the way federal agencies with jurisdictional overlap work together so that the policies, programs and regulations they enforce are well aligned. The bill further directs HUD to engage the wide range of federal agencies that address healthy housing issues and marks an important step forward in working together to improve housing conditions.

These programs support community efforts to establish and implement a locally-defined vision for future growth and redevelopment through comprehensive planning and capital improvement programs.  The bill would also create a loan program for infrastructure improvements, including streetscape and utilities in preparation for transit oriented development.

“The Livable Communities Act of 2011 reflects a much needed commitment to creating healthy, sustainable homes and we will continue to seek support for this legislation,” said Rebecca Morley, executive director of the National Center for Healthy Housing. “The National Center for Healthy Housing commends Senator Menendez for taking a leadership role in bringing national attention to the importance of improving housing conditions throughout our communities.”

Seventeen Senators co-sponsored the bill: Senators Reed (D-RI), Bennet (D-CO), Harkin (D-IA), Lautenberg (D-NJ), Franken (D-MN), Merkley (D-OR), Sanders (I-VT), Blumenthal (D-CT), Wyden (D-OR), Durbin (D-IL), Cardin (D-MD), Akaka (D-HI), Whitehouse (D-RI), Coons (D-DE), Shaheen (D-NH), Landrieu (D-LA) and Leahy (D-VT).

Click here to learn more about the Livable Communities Act of 2011.

Learn More